Post 64:08 Hi PRs – thanks to my new experiment you can send me ALL THE PRESS RELEASES YOU WANT!

For more than five years, I have asked vendors and their PR companies not to send me unsolicited press releases.

I don’t really need them and I was sent so many, they became an irritant. Most are drivel.

So I decided to do without them.

I’ve had to be a bit prickly about it, but I think the experiment has worked, if only because my inbox is less full than would otherwise be the case.

One thing my inbox is full of, these days, is twice-daily mails from Twittermail, a service that takes all the @messages you receive on twitter, rolls them up and sends them as email.

I’ve created a new Twitter ID, jmpressreleases. If you want to send me a release, send it there as an @message. Sometime in the 24 hours after you send me the release, I’ll get notified about it.

Please don’t start emailing them to me. But by all means send as many via Twitter as you want. Of course you’ll need a URL to point to. And you’ll only have 140 characters with which to pique my interest.

If you want an email address to do this, ask me and I might give it out.

So … let’s see how this little experiment goes!

I expect the effort required to use this method will not result in a massive increase of releases sent to me, and that I will still junk 99.5% of them anyway. Let’s see what happens.

One thought on “Post 64:08 Hi PRs – thanks to my new experiment you can send me ALL THE PRESS RELEASES YOU WANT!

Leave a Reply

