Post 50:08 I get Apple’s frosty PR position

I use Windows. It’s actually pretty good. XP, anyway.

So I am no Mac fanboi.

But in the last week, I have “gotten” Apple.

It started when iTunes did something weird. I emailed support and they fixed it.

That got me thinking, what if I could get Apple on SmartCall, the podcast I run about customer service and contact centres.

So I asked Apple if they were willing to discuss their approach to customer service.

The answer was a swift, unequivocal, no-room-for-argument ” Apple does not discuss its business practices.”

That’s more or less what I expected, so I am not angry at Apple.

Over the years, however, plenty of my fellow journos have expressed in rather strident terms what they think of this kind of stonewalling.

But I get it now. Apple makes products. Apple wants all communication about Apple to be about its products and what they can do. If that is your objective, I suspect there’s no point in communicating about your customer service strategy, or your future roadmap, because it has nothing to do with what your products can do.

While this is frustrating to journalists who want to tell the public more about Apple, it obviously works. The deluge of recent speculation about what Apple products will do and how it will be possible to buy them attest to the success of this strategy.

I get that.

I don’t like it. But I’m not supposed to. I’m supposed to like the products!

Leave a Reply

