Post 123: The tradesman’s entrance

Let’s talk about how freelancers can get you into publications where the staff are unreceptive to your advances.

Bottom line, I ain’t gunna do it. As I have discussed before, I see my role as a freelancer as being to add value to publications I contribute to. For me, value does not mean covering vendors that do not rate the attention of staff.

And if you do pitch this stuff to me, at least have your story straight.

I had a call last week from a PR with a “this vendor was acquired and is now thriving as a quasi-independent division” type story. It was pretty damn mild so I asked where she thought I would place the story. She named a magazine that does not have a news section and is famous for not covering vendors at all, ever. Then she suggested a national daily newspaper that does not run stories like this at all, ever.

There are times when the tradesman’s entrance is probably useful. Case studies come to mind as one way in. But if the story doesn’t fly through the front door, it won’t make it in through the back.

Leave a Reply

