Post 79: A few remarks about conference calls

I do several conference calls a week, as PR people sit in as I interview their clients.

And at least 50% of them have some audio problems. that make the interview sub-optimal About 10% are so bad that the interview becomes all-but-useless.

Some of those I put down to my consumer-grade VoIP line.

The rest I think are down to flaws in the networks and technologies that make conference calls possible.

It all gets me thinking why these calls need to be conferences anyway.

I understand that PRs like to know what went on during an interview, just in case I rough up their clients, they say something indiscreet or I  completely misquote them in the stories I write later on.

But aren’t interviewees big enough and ugly enough to fend for themselves?

If they could be taught to cope with a 1:1 call it would be easier for this journalist.

Either that, or find a conference service that works.

Conference call etiquette is also worth a mention. More often than you would imagine, parties who were never mentioned as participants pop up on a call. That’s rude.

It’s also hard to keep track of multiple speakers in a conference call, especially when they do not take the trouble to identify themselves.

This means, in practice, that one of the speakers often will not be quoted.

One thought on “Post 79: A few remarks about conference calls

Leave a Reply

