Post 65: What is Facebook for?

Everyone I know on Facebook, I already knew before Facebook.

We had each others’ email addresses, but generally chose not to correspond.

Now we are all on Facebook, generally choosing not to correspond about things other than what Facebook is for.

That’s why I have created “AGFPWTTCNGSAAIATPOTFAHWTMGIPANVGWOTTGPPOCEA“, aka “A group for people who think that creating new groups solely as an ironic act to point out that Facebook already has way too many groups is probably not a very good way of tackling the group proliferation problem or creating elegant acronyms”

I have got no idea what it is for either, other than expressing the fact I have no idea what Facebook is for.

I think, however, that this post might come in handy.

Strange things are starting to show themselves in traffic analysis.

My post on John Howard vs. Kevin Rudd is attracting a random visitor or three each day, via Google. It’s a topical subject so in come the hits.

So to, the post on William Gibson’s new book is picking up traffic as people (sad to say) Google for Torrents of the audio version. That’s running at three or four a day.

I’m betting that ‘What is Facebook for?’ gets some traffic too.

(Unless someone starts a craze for googling ‘AGFPWTTCNGSAAIATPOTFAHWTMGIPANVGWOTTGPPOCEA’)

That’s not why I wrote this post, though.

I really have no idea what Facebook is for.

UPDATE

Overnight I’ve had five nine hits on the Gibson post, generated by five different search queries on ‘Spook Country’ and’Torrent’. In fact, I’m the number one and two Google result on this query! Oh the notoriety.

What this says about general naughtiness on the net is kind of terrifying!

One thought on “Post 65: What is Facebook for?

  1. Hi, enjoyed your blog post re: William Gibson. I am a big fan too and have followed his work very closely for years.

    If you are interested, I am posting chapter summaries of Spook Country at http://node.tumblr.com. There are definitely tons of spoilers, maps and pictures of key locations in the real Spook Country, and links to related topics. You might also want to check out Memetic Engineer’s Spook Country website [http://www.spookcountry.co.uk/] with a UK angle on the book.

    – sean [nodemagazine.com]

Leave a Reply

