Post 61: New contender for Worst Pitch Ever

There’s a new contender for Worst Pitch Ever.

To understand why, you need to know about Media Connect, a service hereabouts that lets journalists post requests for information to the subscriber base of PRs and vendors.

I use it a LOT.

Which is why this pitch, via email, is so poor.

PR: I just noticed your posting on media connect

(Which one? I usually have at least two on the go at any given time)

PR: I represent [a company known by an acronym] and thought that I might be able to supply you with some relevant info for your feature.

(Which company? Does she mean the financial services company or the telco that share the same initials?)

PR: Could you pls clarify what kind of info you’re after and let me know if you’re interested in the telecoms industry?

How can I clarify when I do not even know which feature she is referring to?

And why oh why is this whole thing predicated on me knowing something about her client? How am I supposed to magically know what it is her client does so I can make the suggestion to her about how they fit into the stories????

Silly me … I thought PR companies were supposed to know all about their clients and how to represent them to the media, not the other way around.

And don’t get me started on why they cannot understand our history with their clients? This question opens the can of worms, yet again, of why PR companies rely so much on individual knowledge and are yet to adopt a CRM-style approach to their interactions with media.

Leave a Reply

