Post 58: Oh the irony that William Gibson’s ‘Spook Country’ is being distributed here late!

William Gibson has a new book coming out, called Spook Country!

Hurrah!

Hang on. NOT Hurrah 😦

That’s because while Amazon will sell it as of August 7th for $UD17.13 (plus shipping), the book will not arrive in Australia until September 7th, for $AUD50. It’s not likely to be a huge seller, so it could take weeks to percolate into bookshops.

So … I could import it for less than I will pay if I wait for local release. And it seems that there will be an audio book release on August 7th too. So it will be a torrent well before the dead tree edition is released here and the web will be full of analysis and spoilers well before I get a chance to hold it in my hands.

Wake up, people! In a world with free information flow this dumb kind of distribution is ANTI-CONSUMER behaviour that will not make you any friends. (And looks very silly, too)

2 thoughts on “Post 58: Oh the irony that William Gibson’s ‘Spook Country’ is being distributed here late!

  1. OK, I’ll take the Twitter-bait, pop your comment-cherry and thoroughly mind-meld my metaphors by asking:

    What do you think of Australia Street?

    My eldest is at Darlington Public, and I’m a huge fan.

  2. I did have to wait until the local release date, but found Booktopia.com.au selling it for $29.95. I’d not ordered from them before, but was happy with the experience. Check them out, fellow Gibsonistas.

Leave a Reply

